Mama

imageI’m really, really, really sad.

I don’t know what to do.

I look at all the green, green, grass,
but all I feel is blue.

I see the birds fly overhead,

And I wish I could fly to.

Fly away from all the stress,

then I wouldn’t feel so blue.

It’s sad to watch your mama age,

And be so very frail.

Her bones so very fragile,

her face so very pale.

She can’t get around anymore,

the bed is not her friend,

still she clings to life with every breath,

she knows she’s near the end.

She needs help just to stand,

And pivot to her chair

We have to hold her gently,

And lovingly place her there.

I wanna scream
God,

please help me

But….
I know this is your plan

I need my mother so very much

She’s the only one who
Understands

She tells she loves me,

she wishes
To rid me of all my pain

But there is nothing she can do

Nothing will ever be the same

I hide the tears I have

In order for her not to see

All the pain I’m enduring

all
That is facing me

I wish I could pick her up

And hold her just as she held me

And rock her back and forth

Like she did when I was her baby

There’s so much she still hasn’t seen

Right here in this land

I think of the mountains
That stand so tall  Majestic,and so grand

I wish I could make her well

And take her for the day

To the beach, a place she loves

It seems so far away

I need you mama,

so very much
I need you just to stay

I know you are in a lot of pain

I wish I could make it go away

I know you’ve tried to help me

You’ve listened to my pain

I wish I could start over

And do it all again

I’d make sure to say yes ma’am

And do the things you’d say

I’d make you so very proud

The perfect daughter I’d portray

I’m so very sorry
for all the times I’ve let you down

Thank you for grabbing me
At the lake, the day I nearly drown

Thank you for always being there

And loving me anyway

And listening to me
Even though,

you didn’t like
what I was going to say

I love you mama here and now

I’ve loved you all my days

I will love you as I walk this earth,

Until the day, I die…

Forever and always

~ LeighAnn Thrasher croyle

Leave a Reply

