Father’s Day Poem for My Daddy


I wrote a poem for you today

To my daddy who went away

God came one night, and took his hand

And lead him to the promise land

When I heard the news, it took my breath

To learn of my daddy’s sudden death
He’d been so sick, and suffered so

I was selfish, I didn’t want him to go

He always looked to God above 

He taught me things, most of love

Like how a daddy, is always there

To provide, support, and always care

I was blessed way above and beyond measure 

To have a daddy I’d always treasure

He worked so hard in his little store

So he could pay bills, and give us more

I can remember him giving bread away

And milk, and goodies to this day

To those who were poor and had no money to give

He’d pack up some milk, and bread to live

Daddy would say, he couldn’t see 

Letting their children go hungry 

Even if they just couldn’t pay, he would just tell them, maybe some day

And he would just smile as they drove away

But he knew then, he’d never see them again, they’d never pay

He always tried to help the poor

Give what he could, from his store

He worked hard every single day

Come home to garden, before the day went away 

He had the greenest thumb you have ever seen

He was so blessed to grow most anything

Oh, the joy he would bring

His voice angelic, he loved to sing

Somewhere over the rainbow, he’d sing to me 

If I couldn’t find him, that’s where he’d be

I guess I was a tomboy cause he would take me

Hunting, and fishing ,that’s where we’d be

Or maybe he would make a stop

And get us a hair cut, at the barber shop 

Daddy was a joker and he was a player

That barber, his friend, he is now the mayor

He loved to play games out in the lake 

And with one giant breath he would take

He’d disappear, out of sight

I’d scream, when I’d feel a hand so tight

He’d tug on my foot and pull me down

I never was scared, he wouldn’t dare per me drown

I can remember, one day, getting bitten

Feeding a little black & white feral kitten

He gave me sardines that were in a can

And he let me feed him by hand

The kitten got to go fishing with us that day

I brought him home to live and stay

Daddy was the best man, I’ve ever known

I look back now that I am grown 

I miss him so much, and the stories he told

I wish I could talk with him, now that I’m old

I know it’s corny, but had to share with you

About the greatest man, I ever knew

So on Father’s Day today, I will not be sad

He is with God, The Ultimate Dad

And what a way to celebrate, to be with God, on Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day Daddy!

And to all the good men 

That are unselfish with love

And make time to spend 

A day with your children 

Shouldn’t be a bother

If it is, then you certainly

Shouldn’t be called a father!
~LeighAnn™

 

Leave a Reply

